The Wallace and Alex show at Prescott

Another fabulous weekend of hill climbing at Prescott produced some top-drawer performances.

The standout being Wallace Menzies who broke the class ‘L’ record on both his qualifying runs.

However, Alex Summers won the first run-off in 35.30 seconds, 4 hundreths ahead of Wallace with Scott Moran third in 35.84 closely followed by Dave Uren and Trevor Willis.

The second run-off was late in the afternoon but it was still warm and sunny and great track conditions. Alex set a time of 35.40 seconds, only for Wallace, running last, to stop the clocks at a sensational 34.65- three quarters of a second under the course record standing at the start of the day. Scott was again third and Dave Uren fourth ahead of Sean Gould and Will Hall, finally back on track after his early season dramas.

Alex now leads our ‘Top Ten Challenge with 114 points, one ahead of Wallace with Sean on 112.

Leading positions and points in the ‘Wynn Developments Top Ten Challenge’ within the MHCC :


1. Alex Summers DJ Firestorm 114

2. Wallace Menzies Gould GR59M 113

3. Sean Gould Gould GR59JB 112

4. Scott Moran Gould GRW59 101

5. Trevor Willis OMS 28 89

6. Dave Uren Gould GR55B 76

7. David Warburton Gould GR59 60

8. Will Hall Force WH Xtec 46

9. Eynon Price Force TA 42

10. Graham Wynn Gould GRW59J 34

In the class based Midland Championship Paul Howells has won his class on a maximum 14 occasions but has yet to break any records. He leads the Championship with 126 points followed by Ash Mason on 121 points. Ash has achieved 3 new class records this year and the 3 additional bonus points awarded mean that he can potentially overhaul Paul’s lead and take the outright Championship win at Loton Park.

At Prescott new class records were established in Class A(i) by Michael Thompson, in ‘D’ by Ash Mason, By Lee Griffiths in K(iii) and in ‘L’ by Wallace who achieved it on both his class runs.

Leading positions and points in the BMTR Motorsport Tyres Midland Hill Climb Championship after Round 16 at Prescott on 04/05 September, 2021 :


1. Paul Howells Porsche 911RSR Class C(iii) 126

2. Ash Mason Westfield Sei Class D 121

3. David Warburton Gould GR59 Class J(i) 113

4= Tim Higgins Westfield Sei Class B 103

Jon Maycock Mazda MX5 Class A(ii) 103

6. Andrew Henson Dallara F394 Class K(i) 98

7. Tom Weaver Van Dieman RF91 Class J(i) 96

8. Richard Weaver Van Dieman RF91 Class J(i) 91

9= Simon Kirton Lotus Exige Class A(i) 90

Phil Tucker Vauxhall Nova Class C(i) 90

11. Joshua Moss Dallara F399 Class K(i) 89

12. Simon Moyse Gould GR59 Class K(ii) 87

So, it’s on to Loton Park on the 25/26th September, where both of our Championships will be decided along with many of the class positions. With two more rounds to count there are points to play for, with dropped scores now coming into play.

All awards to be presented at the Annual Awards Presentation Dinner at the beginning of December – more details will follow next week.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts